Seven to be Inducted into Miami Hall of Fame Feb. 11

Follow @MiamiRedHawks on Twitter

Jan. 5, 2012

Seven outstanding individuals comprise the Miami University Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2011-12. To be inducted into the 43rd Hall of Fame Class on Saturday, Feb. 11 are Kevyn Adams '96 (hockey), Gary Cooper '73 (baseball), Renee DeGraff '84 (volleyball), Joe Shaw '64 (men’s swimming), Amanda Sokolow '99 (field hockey), Tonia Stubbs ’87 (women’s basketball) and Dustin Swinehart '96 (men’s soccer).

Kevyn Adams

Kevyn Adams is Miami hockey’s fourth all-time leading scorer with 172 points and has gone on to a stellar NHL career. Adams helped the Red and White to its first CCHA title and NCAA Tournament appearance in 1992-93. In addition to being Miami’s fourth all-time leading scorer, he also is tied for fourth in career assists (103), tied for seventh in career goals (69) and tied for third in career game-winning goals (11). Adams was a Second-Team All-CCHA honoree in 1994-95, and he was also named to the CCHA/Bauer Nike All-Rookie Team as a freshman. Adams served as team captain as a senior and led the team in points each of his final three years at Miami. Adams holds the distinction of being one of two former Miami players to hoist the Stanley Cup, doing so with the Carolina Hurricanes in 2006.

Gary Cooper

Gary Cooper was Miami’s first baseball All-American, earning second-team honors in 1972, and is one of just eight players in program history to earn the distinction. In 1972, Cooper also earned First-Team All-Region honors. He was a three-time All-MAC recipient, garnering first-team honors in 1972 as a second baseman and second-team recognition in 1971 as a shortstop and in 1973 as a second baseman. In his banner year of 1972, Cooper batted .421—which was the record for nearly two decades and currently is the third-highest mark in program history—and also led the league in six offensive categories that season. He helped lead Miami to its first Mid-American Conference title in 1973 as the Red and White compiled a 14-4 conference record. During his time at Miami, Cooper and the Red and White amassed a 111-39 record, which included a 32-win season in 1971, and never placed lower than third in the MAC. He also was a two-time Academic All-MAC selection and earned CoSIDA Academic All-District honors in 1972.

Renee DeGraff

Renee DeGraff became the first Miami volleyball player to earn All-MAC honors three times in a career, being named to the All-MAC First Team in 1981 and 1982 and the All-MAC Second Team in 1983. She is one of just eight Miami volleyball players to twice earn First-Team All-MAC honors. DeGraff helped Miami capture its first two MAC Championship as the Red and White took home the title in 1980 and 1981. In 1980, Miami earned a spot in the AIAW Tournament and advanced to the MAIAW Regional Championship while posting a 38-11 record. The 1981 team boasts the most wins in program history, amassing a 41-10 mark, and made the first NCAA Tournament appearance in program history. During her four-year stint at Miami, DeGraff spearheaded Miami to a 129-53 record, which included two 30-win seasons and a 40-win season.

Joe Shaw

Joe Shaw was an eight-time MAC individual champion during his time at Miami, which ties for the second-most titles won by a Miami men’s swimmer. Shaw was a three-time MAC Champion in the 200 individual medley (1962, 1963, 1964). He was a two-time MAC Champion in the 200 butterfly (1962, 1964) and a two-time MAC Champion in the 100 butterfly (1963, 1964). He also captured a MAC title in the 400 individual medley in 1963. Shaw was named the Miami Athlete of the Year in 1964 and lost just one race while at Miami. He participated in three NCAA Championship meets, swimming in three events each time, and left Miami as the record holder in six events: 200-yard individual medley, 400-yard individual medley, 200-yard butterfly, 50-yard freestyle, 100-yard freestyle and the 100-yard butterfly.

Amanda Sokolow

Amanda Sokolow was a three-time All-MAC honoree in field hockey and was tabbed the 1995 MAC Freshman of the Year. She is one of two in program history to capture MAC Freshman of the Year plaudits. Sokolow earned First-Team All-MAC honors in 1996 and was a Second-Team All-MAC honoree in 1995 and 1998. In 1996, she also was named to the STX/NFHCA All-Region Team, while earning Academic All-MAC honors in 1998. Sokolow ranks among the MAC’s career Top-10 in career goals (61) and career points (138). Her career numbers for goals and points both rank third all-time at Miami. Three of her single-season numbers for goals and for points rank among the RedHawks’ Top-10 lists. She is one of just three players in program history to record 20 or more goals in a season and also is one of just three players in Miami history to amass 40 or more points in a season.

Tonia Stubbs

Tonia Stubbs led Miami to two MAC Championships (1982 and 1983) and a MAC Tournament title (1982). A three-time All-MAC selection, Stubbs earned Second-Team All-MAC honors in 1985 and honorable mention recognition in 1983 and 1984. She finished as Miami’s career rebounds and field goal percentage record holder and was the first in program history to record 20 double-doubles in a career. Her 815 career rebounds and .529 field goal percentage currently rank second all-time. She also is one of 19 players to surpass 1,000 career points, recording 1,148. After her days at Miami, Stubbs enlisted in the Army where she was selected as the Army Female Athlete of the Year in 1995. Stubbs was an All-Army selection in basketball and also found success as a handball player, earning a spot on the U.S. National Handball Team—winning a gold medal at the 1994 Pan Am Games—and serving as an alternate for the 1996 Olympic team.

Dustin Swinehart

Dustin Swinehart was the men’s soccer team’s all-time leader in career assists with 32, as well as the single-season record holder with 16 in 1993. The 1995 MAC Player of the Year, Swinehart also ranked second in career points (86) and fifth in career goals (27). He was named the Ohio Collegiate Soccer Association Player of the Year in 1995 and the Miami Male Co-Athlete of the Year in 1994-95. He was a two-time All-MAC selection, earning first-team honors in 1995 and honorable mention recognition in 1993. In 1994 and 1995, Swinehart was named to both the All-Ohio and NSCAA All-Mideast Region teams. He led Miami to its first regular-season and MAC Tournament championships in 1994, as well as the program’s only NCAA Tournament berth. As a senior, he also played in the prestigious Umbro Classic Senior All-Star Game. A three-time Academic All-MAC selection, Swinehart was named an NSCAA Scholar All-American in 1995. He also was the recipient of the MAC’s Bob James Postgraduate Award.

A Hall of Fame breakfast will be held at the Knolls of Oxford - Commons at 9:30 a.m. on Saturday, Feb. 11 and the inductees will be further recognized later that afternoon during the men’s basketball game against Central Michigan. It is a tripleheader Saturday at Miami with the women’s basketball game versus Northern Illinois is set for 1 p.m. with the men’s game against the Chippewas scheduled for 3:30 p.m. and the ice hockey game versus Alabama-Huntsville slated for 7:05 p.m.

Space is very limited for the breakfast and reservations will be taken on a first-come, first-serve basis. NO walk-up tickets will be available. Reservations will be taken until 5 p.m. Feb. 6. Cost of the brunch is $25 per person and reservations can be made by contacting the Miami Athletics Ticket Office at 1-866—684-2957 or 513-529-4295.