Miami Athletes of the Week

Follow @MiamiRedHawks on Twitter

Jan. 17, 2012

OXFORD, Ohio - For the first time this year, an entire team has earned athlete of the week honors, as the collegiate synchronized skating team are the Miami Female Athletes of the Week while senior diver James Beres is the Miami Male Athlete of the Week for the week of Jan. 9-15. It is the first such honor for each this year.

Miami's collegiate synchronized skating team

For the second straight competition, the Miami University collegiate synchronized skating team dominated the field with their program to music by Beyonce. The RedHawks captured first place at the Mid-America Championships over the weekend with a season-high score of 89.99, a score more than five points better than its season-opening score at the Dr. Porter Classic. Miami bested its nearest competition by more than 10 points, the second time in two events it has eclipsed its nearest competitor by double figures.

Miami’s senior and collegiate teams will perform at this weekend’s hockey games on Friday and Saturday, respectively. The collegiate team returns to competition on Feb. 11 at the Tri-State Championship in Fraser, Mich.

James Beres

Beres (Columbus, Ohio) once again captured top honors in both the one- and three-meter diving events as he led Miami to a defeat of arch-rival Cincinnati Friday night at the Nixon Aquatic Center, 181-118. The senior’s score of 378.08 on the one-meter board far exceeded the point total of teammate and runner-up Mike Grainger. Likewise, Beres’ three-meter score of 395.85 was nearly 60 points better than teammate and second-place finisher Chris Hoppler.

The two-time defending Mid-American Conference Diver of the Year will attempt to duplicate that honor for a third time in his home pool on March 1-3 when Miami hosts the 60th Annual MAC Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships. Beres and the RedHawks are next in action this Friday, Jan. 20 at Cleveland State.

The next Miami Athletes of the Week will be announced Tuesday, Jan. 24. For a list of previous winners, click here.