Miami Announces 2016-17 Award Winners

Follow @MiamiRedHawks on Twitter

Aug. 11, 2017

OXFORD, Ohio -- The Miami University Athletic Department announced Friday that eight student-athletes have earned its most prestigious annual awards and will be honored at halftime of the Miami versus Cincinnati homecoming football game on Saturday, Sept. 16.

Earning Male Athlete of the Year was Andrew Dusing (track and field), while the Female Athlete of the Year award was won by Pei Lin (swimming and diving). Dusing and Stephen Biebelhausen (track and field) were named Co-Male Scholar Athlete of the Year, while Paige Hill (volleyball) earned Female Scholar Athlete of the Year honors. The Phillip Shriver Graduating Champions Medal of Honor - which is presented to an outstanding graduating male and female student-athlete who have been members of a championship team during their careers, along with being leaders and epitomizing Love and Honor -- was awarded to Anthony Louis (hockey) and Martha Szekely (track and field). The Darrell Hedric Award was earned by Tyler Harris (baseball), while Kelsi White (field hockey) captured the Leann Grimes Davidge Award.

Dusing (Brookfield, Wisconsin) became the first men's track athlete to qualify for the NCAA Outdoor Championship since 2008. Once arriving he set a new school record in the 1500 meter with a time of 3:40.99 to finish sixth in the nation. He became Miami's first male track All-American since 2005. He was Second-Team All-MAC in both cross country and outdoor track and field, helping the RedHawks to a second place finish in the MAC Championship cross country meet. Dusing earned his Scholar Athlete of the Year award by finishing with a 3.81 GPA while graduating with a degree in Finance Management and Leadership. He was a six-time Academic All-MAC selection and a two-time MAC Distinguished Scholar Athlete.

Lin (Shantou City, China) placed second in the three-meter dive at the NCAA dive for the third consecutive year and seventh in the one-meter dive, earning First-Team All-American honors for both awards. That gives her five First-Team All-America awards for her career. Her three second place finishes are the best in any swimming or diving completion for a Miami student-athlete. She won every other event she competed in during the season, earning a MAC Championship and being named MAC Diver of the Year.

Biebelhausen (Rochester, Michigan) finished his career with a MAC Championship in the 1500-meter, beating out fellow RedHawk Dusing. That is on top of a sixth-place finish in the same race as a junior. He helped Miami to a second-place finish in the MAC Cross Country Championships in the fall, placing 15th with a time of 25:58.4. A four-time Academic All-MAC selection, Biebelhausen graduated with a 3.51 GPA in bioengineering and premedical studies. He was a Distinguished Scholar Athlete for cross country in 2016.

Hill (Massillon, Ohio) was a three-time First-Team All-MAC selection. She helped lead the RedHawks to their first MAC Regular Season Championship since 1998 and first NCAA Tournament appearance since 2008. She finished with 965 career kills and an attack percentage of .328, which is second-best in Miami history. She also was only the fifth player in school history to finish her career with a block average of 1.00 per set. Hill graduated with a 3.61 GPA in speech pathology and audiology. She was named a Distinguished Scholar Athlete in 2016.

Louis (Winfield, Ill.) skated for four years with the Red & White and joined the program's 100-point club amidst a career year that saw the Winfield, Illinois native notch 14 goals and 39 points, earning NCHC Forward of the Year honors. In 145 games at Miami, Louis finished with 126 points on 46 goals and 80 assists, posting at least 25 points every season. He helped the RedHawks win the NCHC Frozen Faceoff in 2015 as they went 25-14-1 and earned a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament that season. His 126 career points rank 20th in program history.

Szekely (Medina, Ohio) became a MAC Champion for the first time as a senior with a win in the hammer throw this season. She then became the first hammer thrower in school history to clear 200 feet with a throw of 200-1 at the NCAA Outdoor Championship to get Honorable Mention All-American honors. Harris (Springdale, Arkansas) was a leader on and off the field during his three years with Miami baseball after transferring from Missouri State. He finished with a .290 batting average with 18 home runs and 63 RBIs and was a First-Team All-MAC selection in 2017, but according to head coach Danny Hayden most importantly he was an example to his teammates of how to do things the right way. He spent the most energy and time with their Team Impact teammate Tyler Holliday. He led the Bible study for those who were interested and even assisted the equipment manager in daily prep during game days and practice days with no recognition or compensation.

White (Louisville, Kentucky) made an impact on all NCAA sports that will be felt for years to come. Holding a perfect 4.0 GPA and helping lead the field hockey team to three MAC Championships during her four seasons with the RedHawks, she was the president of the MAC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and the Vice-President of the NCAA SAAC. She helped author a document on student-athlete time demands that the MAC is adopting and is being considered throughout the entire NCAA. White was Miami's Rhodes Scholar nominee in 2017.

Miami's Male and Female Athlete of the Year honors are awarded to any student-athlete (freshman, sophomore, junior or senior) who has made significant athletic contributions to his/her respective team for that academic year. The Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards are bestowed upon a student-athlete of senior standing, who has excelled in the classroom as well as in the athletic arena.

The Shriver Graduating Champions Medal of Honor is presented in honor of former Miami University President Dr. Phillip R. Shriver, who served in the position from 1965 to 1981, and requires the recipient to have won a championship in his or her time at Miami. Shriver's support of the athletic programs, student-athletes, coaches and support staff went far beyond his stint as Miami University's 17th president. A fixture at Miami Athletics events, Dr. Shriver's legacy lives on through the development of athletics during his tenure as president and his unwavering support of the Red and White.

Noted as a top award for an upper class female student-athlete, the Leann Grimes Davidge Award is presented in honor of the former Miami women's tennis coach from 1979 to 1985, who tragically lost her life in an automobile accident. In six years as head coach, Davidge compiled an overall record of 93-50 and 25-1 in MAC action, while capturing four consecutive MAC Championships. This award is meant to keep her legacy alive through recognition of outstanding female student-athletes who have excelled in athletics, academics and leadership.

The Darrell Hedric Award is presented in honor of a 1955 Miami Alumnus and former men's basketball coach and associate athletic director emeritus, who has had a more-than 50-year association with Miami Athletics. He was a three-time MAC Coach of the Year and two-time Ohio Basketball Coach of the Year, leading Miami to four NCAA Tournament appearances in 14 years guiding the Red and White.