Miami Athletes of the Week

Follow @MiamiRedHawks on Twitter

Oct. 4, 2011

OXFORD, Ohio - After making history Saturday, sophomore wide receiver Nick Harwell is Miami's Male Athlete of the Week for the week of Sept. 26-Oct. 2 while senior cross country runner Maggie Bingham is Miami's Female Athlete of the Week after leading the RedHawks to a team title.

Maggie Bingham

Bingham (Carmel, Ind.) led Miami to its second straight All-Ohio Championships title Friday as she earned runner-up honors in 17:58.11, cutting off four seconds from her 14th-place finish at last year's race. Her time was a season-best 5K time while the runner-up finish tied a career-best finish for Bingham. It was her second straight race finishing as Miami's top scorer while running in a field of 317 runners from 47 schools, including four other MAC schools (Akron, Kent State, Ohio and Bowling Green), all of which Miami beat. Bingham finished less than three ticks behind the race's winner.

Nick Harwell

Harwell (Missouri City, Texas) recorded his third straight 100-yard receiving game Saturday against Cincinnati, which is each game he's played this year. He becomes just the second player in school history to top the century mark in receiving yards in three consecutive contests after grabbing six passes for a game-high 149 yards versus the Bearcats. Only Martin Nance has accomplished the feat previously, doing so twice, including four straight games in 2005. Harwell now has five 100-yard receiving games for his career, which ranks sixth in school history.

Harwell also earned Miami's Male Athlete of the Week two weeks ago when he recorded his first 100-yard game of the year, catching 12 balls for 162 yards at Minnesota.

Bingham and the rest of the women's cross country team runs again Friday, Oct. 14 at the Penn State National Meet in University Park, Pa. Football finishes up a three-game home stand Saturday, Oct. 8 when the RedHawks host Army at 1 p.m. The next Miami Athletes of the Week will be announced Tuesday, Oct. 10. For a list of previous winners, click here.