Harding Named to Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List

Follow @MiamiRedHawks and @MiamiOHFootball on Twitter

July 13, 2017

DALLAS (FWAA) — Heath Harding was one of 103 players named to the 2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List this morning, given to the best defensive player in college football. Harding is one of just three players from the Mid-American Conference on this list.

Earlier this week Harding was named to the Bednarik Preseason Watch List (READ).

Last season Harding earned first-team All-MAC as one of the league’s top cornerbacks. He finished the season with 67 tackles, 6.5 tackles for loss, four interceptions and 11 pass break-ups.

In his career, the fifth-year senior has 227 tackles, 15.5 tackles for loss, nine interceptions and 21 pass breakups in 40 games.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen among five finalists. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association’s full membership, selects a 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski Trophy finalists. Committee members, by individual ballot, select the winner they regard as the best defensive player in college football.

The FWAA has chosen a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993. In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of the legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota. Nagurski dominated college football, then became a star for professional football’s Chicago Bears in the 1930s. Bronislaw “Bronko” Nagurski is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame