Eleven RedHawks Placed on NCHC Academic All-Conference Team

Follow @MiamiRedHawks and @MiamiOH_Hockey on Twitter

Feb. 15, 2017

NCHC Release

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Eleven members of the Miami hockey team were recognized for their diligence in the classroom by landing on the National Collegiate Hockey Conference’s Academic All-Conference Team on Wednesday.

Representing the Red & White on the league’s all-academic team are Justin Greenberg (Dallas, Texas/Texas (NAHL)), Grant Hutton (Carmel, Ind./Janesville (NAHL)), Ryan Larkin (Clarkston, Mich./Cedar Rapids (USHL)), Zach LaValle (Oakdale, Minn./Janesville (NAHL)), Conor Lemirande (Janesville, Wis./Youngstown (USHL)), Evan McCarthy (Castle Rock, Colo./Walpole (EHL)), Josh Melnick (Annandale, N.J./Youngstown (USHL)), Kiefer Sherwood (New Albany, Ohio/Youngstown (USHL)), Ryan Siroky (Manhattan Beach, Calif./Bloomington (USHL)), Colin Sullivan (Milford, Conn./Green Bay (USHL)) and Johnny Wingels (Wilmette, Ill.). In addition to earning academic all-conference honors, Lemirande, Sherwood and Wingels garnered NCHC Scholar Athlete Team status.

To be eligible for the NCHC Academic All-Conference Team, a student-athlete must compile a 3.0 cumulative grade-point average or better while having completed at least one academic year at his current institution. Student-athletes that have accrued a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or better garner NCHC Scholar-Athlete Team distinction, in addition to Academic All-Conference. The 123 Academic All-Conference recipients are the second-most in the NCHC’s four year history (133 in 2013-14) and 25 more than a season ago, while the 39 Scholar-Athlete Team recipients are six more than last season when the NCHC Scholar-Athlete Team first switched to its current criteria.

While freshmen are not currently eligible for the NCHC Academic All-Conference or Scholar-Athlete Teams, those freshmen that achieve a cumulative 3.0 GPA or better at the conclusion of the 2016-17 academic year, will be added to the Academic All-Conference Team by the NCHC over the summer. Similarly, any freshmen who compile a 3.5 GPA or better will earn Scholar-Athlete Team honors. While a freshman in terms of eligibility, Larkin has two semesters in the books at Miami as an early enrollee last January.

All 11 of Miami’s representatives on the NCHC Academic All-Conference team are listed below (NCHC Scholar Athlete Team members in bold).

Justin Greenberg
Grant Hutton
Ryan Larkin
Zach LaValle
Conor Lemirande
Evan McCarthy
Josh Melnick
Kiefer Sherwood
Ryan Siroky
Colin Sullivan
Johnny Wingels