Miami's Ryan Jones Named Hobey Baker Top Ten Finalist

Follow @MiamiRedHawks and @MiamiOH_Hockey on Twitter

March 20, 2008

OXFORD, OHIO - Miami University's senior forward Ryan Jones (Chatham, Ont.) has been named a Top Ten finalist for the Hobey Baker Award, presented annually to the top men's college hockey player.

Jones, the nation's leading goal scorer with 30 (30 goals, 16 assists, 46 points) and a first-team All-CCHA selection, joins nine other collegiate stars, including Nathan Gerbe of Boston College, Lee Jubinville of Princeton, Simon Lambert of RIT, Jean-Philippe Lamoureux of North Dakota, Ryan Lasch of St. Cloud State, Jeff Lerg of Michigan State, T.J. Oshie of North Dakota, Kevin Porter of Michigan, and Kevin Regan of New Hampshire.

Jones has led the RedHawks to a 31-6-1 record in 2007-08. The Miami standout has 89 career goals, second only to Rich Kuraly, who scored 101 from 1979-83.

The Top Ten is compiled from balloting from all 59 Division I college hockey head coaches and by an on-line fan ballot.

The Top Ten list will now be voted on by the 25-member selection committee and a second round of fan balloting (at from March 20-30). Criteria for the award includes strength of character on and off the ice, displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements. The Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists will be announced on April 2.

The Hobey Baker Award announcement will be made on Friday, April 11, from Denver, Colo., the site of this year's NCAA Frozen Four Championship, and the banquet will be held May 2 in St. Paul, Minn.