Youth Served at Hockey’s Night of Celebration

Follow @MiamiRedHawks and @MiamiOH_Hockey on Twitter

April 15, 2017

OXFORD, Ohio – For the second-straight year, a Miami goaltender laid claim to the Gary DeLonge Most Valuable Player award at the hockey team’s annual Night of Celebration postseason banquet. Saturday evening’s year-end event was sponsored by the Blue Line Club.

Larkin started 33 of the RedHawks’ 36 games in the crease, finishing with a .910 save percentage and a 2.77 goals against average. The Clarkston, Mich., native made 30 or more saves 12 times and allowed two goals or fewer on 13 occasions.

The rest of the RedHawks’ award winners at the Night of Celebration are listed below.

Award Winners
Jim Grant “7th Player” Award – Josh Sampson
George Gwozdecky Blue Line Club Award – Josh Melnick
Scholar Athlete Award – Justin Greenberg, Colin Sullivan, Johnny Wingels
Tom Brown Unsung Hero Award – Justin Greenberg
Dr. Phillip Shriver Rookie of the Year – Ryan Larkin
Mitch Korn Outstanding Defensive Player – Grant Hutton
Steve Cady Most Improved Player – Gordie Green
Berry Family Outstanding Senior – Anthony Louis
Bill Davidge Outstanding Offensive Player – Anthony Louis
Gary DeLonge Most Valuable Player – Ryan Larkin

Miami revealed its 2017-18 schedule earlier in the week. The RedHawks’ host the last three national champions and both 2018 national title game participants. That all begins against Providence on Oct. 6 at Steve ‘Coach’ Cady Arena.