Miami Swimmers Sweep MAC Swimmer of the Week Honors

Follow @MiamiRedHawks and @MiamiOHSwimDive on Twitter

Jan. 20, 2009

Oxford, Ohio--For the third time this season, Miami University has swept Swimmer of the Week honors in the Mid-American Conference. The RedHawk men's team celebrates junior DAVE BROWN's (Lake Orion, MI) second MAC honor of 2008-09, while the women's swimming team salutes sophomore Sarah Bullock as its squad's fourth league weekly honoree.

Bullock won the 500 freestyle and the 1650 free, and led Miami past rival Cincinnati last Friday, 181.5 to 112.5. Bullock took the 500 free in a time of 5:07.71 to lead a 1-2-3-4 Miami finish in that event. Her 1650 clocking of 17:16.73 beat runner-up and teammate Jenn Flaherty (Scarborough, ME). The RedHawks improved their dual meet record during the 2008-09 season to 8-1.

On Saturday, Brown captured both the 100- and 200-yard freestyle events in respective times of :47.22 and 1:43.75 in a 131-101 win over Buffalo. He, sophomore Mark Healey, senior Zac Siegel and senior Nick DuPuis won the 400 freestyle relay race with a season-best clocking of 3:08.66. On Friday, in a dual meet against Cincinnati, Brown finished second in the 50-yard freestyle.

Altogether, Miami's men's and women's swimmers and divers have had nine MAC honorees this season.

Previous MAC Women's Swimmers of the Week

Oct. 21: Jacy Dyer, Toledo

Oct. 28: Kasey Carpenter, Miami

Nov. 4: Stephanie Zielinski, Akron

Nov. 11: Allison Stevens, Miami; and Ashley Marion Ohio

Nov. 18: Cathryn Collins, Akron

Nov. 26: Mary Ehresman, Ball State

Dec. 3: no competition

Dec. 10: Malarie Schmidt, Miami; and Jacy Dyer, Toledo

Dec. 17: Emily Haifley, Ball State

Jan. 13: Katie Carter, Akron

Jan. 20: Sarah Bullock, Miami

Previous MAC Men's Swimmers of the Week

Oct. 21: Austin Laksa, Ball State

Oct. 28: Mike Carroll, Miami

Nov. 4: Dave Brown, Miami

Nov. 11: Derick Roe, Eastern Michigan

Nov. 18: Chris Heaton, Miami

Nov. 26: Chris Krupa, Ball State

Dec. 3: no competition

Dec. 10: Chris Heaton, Miami

Dec. 17: Austin Laska, Ball State

Jan. 13: Chad Miller, Buffalo

Jan. 20: Dave Brown, Miami