Eberst Named Diver of the Year as Seven RedHawks Garner All-MAC Honors

Follow @MiamiRedHawks and @MiamiOHSwimDive on Twitter

Feb. 27, 2006

AKRON, Ohio - Senior Christin Eberst (Clifton Park, N.Y.) was named the Mid-American Conference Diver of the Year and the Miami University women's swimming and diving team placed seven athletes on the all-conference teams as the MAC postseason awards were announced following the completion of this weekend's MAC Championships. Miami placed two athletes on the all-MAC first team and five more on the second team as it finished as the conference runner-up behind overall champion Eastern Michigan.

Eberst was named the conference diver of the year after placing second in the one-meter dive with a score of 305.65 and third in the three-meter dive with a tally of 309.95. In her four seasons at Miami, Eberst won seven diving medals at the MAC Championships, including a first-place finish in the one-meter dive as a junior. The MAC Diver of the Year honors caps a senior season in which Eberst reset the school record in the three-meter dive against Ohio (Jan. 28) with a score of 337.95 and was the only Miami women's swimmer/diver to earn MAC Athlete of the Week accolades (Nov. 8). Heading into the conference meet, Eberst posted the top one- (305.80) and three-meter (337.95) diving scores in the MAC this season and had won 30 of the last 40 diving events she entered.

Sophomore Kristen Bezier (Evans City, Pa.) and senior Katie Forster (Centerville, Ohio) were the two Miami swimmers who placed on the all-MAC first team, with Bezier finishing as Miami's only individual MAC Champion. Bezier swept the 100 and 200 breaststroke at the conference meet, becoming the first Miami swimmer to win multiple individual MAC titles in a season since Amy Miranda in 2004 and the first since Amanda Furlano in 1998 to sweep the breaststroke events. In the 100 breaststroke, Bezier clocked in with a pool-record and career-best time of 1:04.25, which also ranks as the second-best time in Miami history. Bezier added her second gold medal with a career-best and pool-record time of 2:19.23 in the 200 breaststroke, which ranks fourth all-time on the Miami top-10 list. Bezier also swam a leg on Miami's gold-medal winning 200 medley relay team. Forster, meanwhile, won a silver medal in the 200 butterfly (2:04.33), finished sixth in the 200 freestyle (1:52.10), placed sixth in the 500 freestyle (5:00.46) and swam on Miami's sixth-place 800 freestyle relay team (7:39.84).

Miami's five second-team all-MAC selections were sophomore Lauren Evanosky (Westport, Conn.), junior Margaret Patrick (Marietta, Ga.), freshman Malarie Schmidt (Batavia, Ill.), junior Darcy Meek (Wilton, Conn.) and Eberst.

2006 MAC Swimming and Diving Awards
Coach Of The Year: Peter Linn, Eastern Michigan
Diving Coach Of The Year: Buck Smith, Eastern Michigan
Swimmer Of The Year: Madeleine Pilchard, Eastern Michigan
Diver Of The Year: Christin Eberst, Miami

Madeleine Pilchard, So., EMU
Danielle Beland, Jr., Akron
Ashley Marion, Fr., Ohio
Emily Wylam, So., Ohio
Michaela Hahn-Lawson, So., Ohio
Kristen Bezier, So., Miami
Leah Woodard, So., Toledo
Caroline Keating, Jr., BGSU
Mary Brinkoetter, Jr., Ball State
Megan Walters, Sr., Akron
Katie Forster, Sr., Miami
Ilse Peterson, So., Ohio
Addison Del Rio, So., Ball State
Courtney Gallo, Fr., Ohio
Katie Carter, Fr., Akron
Sarah Chrzanowski, Jr., EMU

Brittany Sayler, Jr., Ball State
Lauren Evanosky, So., Miami
Stephanie Buckner, Sr., BGSU
Melissa Young, Jr., Akron
Margaret Patrick, Jr., Miami
Lindsey Hayden, Fr., EMU
Christin Eberst, Sr., Miami
Ashley Tremblay, So., Toledo
Claire Letendre, Jr., EMU
Chantelle Lonsdale, Fr., EMU
Malarie Schmidt, Fr., Miami
Kara Ohngren, Sr., BGSU
Gretchen Plamondon, Sr., EMU
Dana Schultz, Sr., BGSU
Sigal Simsolo, So., Ohio
Catherine Lee Ha, Fr., EMU
Becky Renkola, Fr., EMU
Darcy Meek, Jr., Miami